Asian Cuisine Meets Healthy Italian

As I rushed to catch the 1pm bus on the way from the city to my comfy, little home in Jersey, I thought to myself “what should I make for dinner?”  Then it dawned on me, Pizza-stuffed Zucchini. I had originally gotten the idea from Dashing Dish, Lauren’s Latest, and Big Girls Small Kitchen. Although I loved each and every recipe, I knew that I had left-over tomato sauce from last night’s Spaghetti Squash Meal, and so I took in all the ideas, but simplified it in a way that would be easy for me to utilize what I had.

Since I knew I would be fasting tomorrow, because of Yom Kippur or Day of Atonement for the Jewish people, I knew I had to pair up this delicious entree with filling sides. I chose rice, cooked in a little bit of soy sauce and honey (homemade teriyaki), and steamed broccoli.

IMG_7156

 

To make this delicious Pizza-Stuffed Zucchini you will need the following:

1 medium sized zucchini

1/3 cup of shredded mozzarella cheese

tomato paste mixed with hot water, add some pepper, salt, and garlic powder and you have yourself a sauce

 

Procedure:

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.

Take out a cooking pan and put tin foil on it, add a little olive oil to the pan and set it aside.

Cut the zucchini into half and then into another half.

Scoop the inside of the zucchini so it looks like a boat.

Put the tomato sauce.

Add the cheese.

(You can also add other vegetables like olives, onions, peppers, etc. to your liking)

Stick the zucchini in the oven for 30 minutes.

DONE!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

4 thoughts on “Asian Cuisine Meets Healthy Italian

  1. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award | gettingbitzyfit

  2. Hello there

    I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award, I thoroughly enjoy reading your posts and following your progress, so here’s to you all, thank you for sharing. Kind Regards, Bitzyfit!
    I’ve put the rules down for you, but feel free to copy and paste if it helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

